Surf City: The Best of Jan & Dean – CD

AVAILABLE NOW: Surf City: The Best of Jan & Dean – CD

ONLY: $14.99 

To View and Order Click “Add To Cart” Below:

Track Listing:

1. A Sunday Kind of Love
2. Tennessee
3. Fiddle Around
4. My Favorite Dream
5. Linda
6. Surf City
7. She's My Summer Girl
8. Honolulu Lulu
9. Someday (You'll Go Walking By)
10. Drag City
11. Popsicle
12. Dead Man's Curve
13. The New Girl in School
14. The Little Old Lady (From Pasadena)
15. Ride the Wild Surf
16. The Anaheim, Azusa & Cucamonga Sewing Circle, Book Review and Timing Association
17. Side Walk Surfin'
18. (Here They Come) From All Over the World
19. Freeway Flyer
20. You Really Know How to Hurt a Guy
21. I Found a Girl
22. Batman TV Theme

Life and fame were very good to Jan and Dean, at least for a while, when they started out as a Garage Duo making the tours of local recording studios. They quickly took advantage of the happenstance of the rise of southern California surfer music to catch a wave to the top with an early hit, "Linda". Later came "Surf City", and a raft of together, such as "Honolulu Lulu", "The New Girl In School', and "Sidewalk Surfing" (which robbed the melody and chord progressions from Beach Boy pal Brian Wilson's "Catch A Wave). Later came such popular numbers as "Ride The Wild Surf", "You really Know How to Hurt A Guy", and of course, "The Little Old Lady From Pasadena".

In what is one of the most ironic twists involving their career, one of their biggest hits was with a song called "Dead Man's Curve", which chronicled a fateful race between a Jaguar XKE and a Corvette Sting Ray, which ends with the protagonist badly mangled in the crash. Just a year later Jan was himself badly injured in such a crash in his own Corvette, and suffered a number of permanent disabilities from it. Still, Jan and Dean performed for years later with rock and roll revival tours, and Jan still records, although in a very limited sense. This was wonderful music, and it still plays well. I listen to them often, and I'm sure you will too once you listen to this album of their collected hits. Enjoy!!